Who do I vote for?

Who do I vote for?

North Carolina is one of the few states left who still elect judges.  Even well-informed people who can discuss the particulars of economic stimulus packages and can pronounce Mahmoud Ahmadinejad, turn to me in confusion as to who they need to vote for the North Carolina Supreme Court, North Carolina Court of Appeals, and the local Superior and District trial courts.  "You are a lawyer," they say, "tell me who to vote for."  Only on that unlikely day when I run for political office will I have a good answer to that question.  Usually all I will do is to steer them away from one or two candidates who are totally unqualified or I have serious questions about their competency on the bench.  Looking through the list of candidates this year, I don't see any that are obvious "no" votes, so in an attempt to be "fair and balanced" I'll try and run through the candidates and where you can get more information.

First head here to check your registration status and get a sample ballot. 


(Edmunds Seat)

 Robert H. (Bob) Edmunds, Jr

Justice Edmunds is the incumbent and has served on the NC Supreme Court since 2000.  Prior to serving on the Supreme Court, he was a prosecutor both on the county and federal levels, and was a partner in private practice in Greensboro.

Suzanne Reynolds

Professor Reynolds is a family law and a ethics law professor at Wake Forest University School of Law.  She is acknowledged as one of the foremost experts in Family Law (divorces, child custody, etc.) in this state. 


(Tyson Seat)

Kristin Ruth

Judge Ruth is currently serving as a district court judge in Wake county, concentrating in the court that is designated for enforcement of child support. 

Sam J. Ervin, IV

Mr. Ervin was in general private practice in Morganton for about 18 years.  Since then he has been serving on the North Carolina Utilities Commission.  The Utilities Commission is a quasi-judicial agency responsible for regulating investor-owned electric, natural gas, telecommunications and water an sewer companies providing service in North Carolina. 

(Wynn Seat)

James A. (Jim) Wynn

Judge Wynn is the incumbent and has 17 years of judicial experience with the NC Court of Appeals and Supreme Courts.

Jewel Ann Farlow

Ms. Farlow has been a general practitioner since 1988.  There has been some discussion about her conviction of misdemeanor larceny back in 1982 and a subsequent pardon in 2001

(McCullough Seat)

Doug McCullough

Justice McCullough is the incumbent and has served on the Court of Appeals since 2000. 

Cheri Beasley

Judge Beasley has been a District Court Judge in Cumberland County since 1999 and generally presides over the Family and Juvenile Courts. 

(Stephens Seat)

Linda Stephens

Judge Stephens is the incumbent.  She's been on the Court of Appeals since 2006.  Before that she worked mostly in the worker's compensation field, first as a Deputy Commissioner with the Industrial Commission and then in private practice. 

Dan Barrett

Mr. Barrett has worked in private practice for the last 22 years, specializing in employment law. 

(Arrowood Seat)

John Arrowood John Arrowood

Judge Arrowood has served as a clerk with the Court of Appeals, private practice, and as a Special Superior Court Judge presiding over civil and criminal trials across the state.   Prior to that he was in  private practice in Charlotte for 18 years doing complex commercial litigation and was a Superior Court Judge.  He is the current incumbent having been appointed to the Court of Appeals in 2007.

Robert N. (Bob) Hunter, Jr.

Mr. Hunter has been in private practice for 35 years primarily in the Greensboro area. 

John Martin – Court of Appeals (unopposed)


John J. Carroll, III (unopposed)

J.H. Corpening, II (unopposed)

Richard Russell Davis (unopposed)

Jeffrey E. Noecker (unopposed)

(Criner seat)

Sandra Ray Criner

Judge Criner is the incumbent and has held the seat since 2004. 

Joy K. Alford-Brand

Ms. Alford-Brand is a current Assistant District Attorney in the 5th District.  She has been practicing law for nine years and an ADA for the last three.